Words of Wisdom:

"Why take the hard way when you can do better the easy way!?!?!?!?" - Jeni589

Stages of Grief

  1. Stages Of Grief
    enter this stage a long time before the people they leave behind, who must necessarily pass through their own individual stages of dealing with the grief. http...
  2. Five Stages Of Grief
    to leave. The fourth stage of grief is depression. This is the stage that scares me the most. When people go through this stage I worry about them very...
  3. 7 Stages Of Grief
    a long period of sad reflection will likely overtake you. This is a normal stage of grief, so do not be "talked out of it" by well-meaning outsiders. Encouragement...
Date Submitted:
02/12/2013 07:30 PM
Flesch-Kincaid Score:
Essay Grade:
no grades
Join Now!

Already a Member? Login Now

In the movie “My Life” the protagonist Robert “Bob” Jones, has learned that he has cancer in his kidneys and that since the cancer has spread, he will die. Throughout the movie the viewers can experience the five different stages of grief that human beings go through. The process usually begins with denial, then anger, followed by bargaining, then depression, and finally acceptance.
From the very beginning, we meet Bob Jones and he told us that he has terminal cancer. However, he keeps telling others that he is going to make it, even telling his wife that he has an over a hundred percent chance of surviving. He keeps denying that he is most likely going to die. But we can see that even though he says he’ll fight and win, we watch him put together a video for his future son so that he can watch and listen to his father and get to know who he was. Deep down inside he always knew that he wasn’t going to survive, he just didn’t want to give up hope yet.
When his doctors take him off treatment, we watch Bob become so angry. He yells at his doctors for not trying and giving up on him saying, “This is all I have!” He could be referring to the fact that he only has a few months to live or he could be referring to the fact that they just dashed his hopes of ever getting better. Hope was all he had and now that has been taken away. Throughout the movie he continues to experience anger, such as when he can’t climb the stairs anymore, the fact that he can no longer do such a simple task angers him as well as saddens him. Another moment where he feels anger is when he goes to the Chinese healer for the first time, he doesn’t feel that the man is helping and calls him a fraud.
An important scene in the film is when he asks God by meaning of a star, to give him enough time to see his son’s birth. The scene is reminiscent of the beginning of the movie where as a little boy he asks for a real circus to be in his backyard. He is bargaining for time that the doctors...
Join Now to View the Full Essay


Express your owns thoughts and ideas on this essay by writing a grade and/or critique.

  1. No comments