Words of Wisdom:

"do as per the site says it is god"by neeraj shastry" - Baseball

Proposed States and Territories of India

  • Date Submitted: 03/19/2015 03:44 AM
  • Flesch-Kincaid Score: 32.3 
  • Words: 4918
  • Essay Grade: no grades
  • Report this Essay
Proposed states and territories of India
This is a list of proposed states and territories of India, in addition to the existing twenty nine states and seven union territories. The admission or creation of new states and territories is a power reserved solely for the Parliament of India, which can do so by admitting new states, separating territory from an existing state or by merging two or more states or parts thereof
Before independence, most of India was divided into British-administered provinces and nominally autonomous princely states, which were governed with British advice. After the partition of India, some of these administrative divisions became part of the Dominion of Pakistan, whilst the remaining states and provinces formed the Dominion of India. The colonial system of administration continued until 1956 when the States Reorganization Act abolished the provinces and princely states in favour of new states which were based on language and ethnicity.
Several new states and union territories have been created out of existing states since 1956. The Bombay Reorganization Act split Bombay State into the linguistic states of Gujarat and Maharashtra on 1 May 1960.[3] Nagaland was created on 1 December 1963.[4] The Punjab Reorganization Act of 1966 created a new Hindi-speaking state of Haryana from the southern districts of Punjab state,[5] transferred the northern districts of Punjab to Himachal Pradesh, and designated a union territory around Chandigarh, the shared capital of Punjab and Haryana.
Statehood was conferred upon Himachal Pradesh on 25 January 1971,[7] and Manipur, Meghalaya and Tripura.[8] The Kingdom of Sikkim joined the Indian Union as a state on 26 April 1975.[9] In 1987, Arunachal Pradesh and Mizoram became states on 20 February, followed by Goa on 30 May, while Goa's northern exclaves of Daman and Diu became a separate union territory.[10]
Three new states were created in November 2000: Chhattisgarh (1 November) was created...


Express your owns thoughts and ideas on this essay by writing a grade and/or critique.

  1. No comments